Concentric Circles

July 8, 2011 § 3 Comments

ripple

photo cred: mdezemery

Every ripple starts somewhere.  In my kindergarten curriculum, students start the year learning and sharing about themselves. As their development progresses they begin to learn about the world outside themselves. Starting with their school community, then their city and eventually the world.

 

These concentric circles work really well for kindergartners and, as it turns, out are a pretty good model for grown-ups too.

Recently, I realized that the reason I was having such a hard time with my spiritual development was that I kept trying to jump ahead in the curriculum. I wanted to be a spiritual leader/guru/sage and I hadn’t even taken the pre-req’s!  I learned that where I really needed to start was with myself. That seemed a little egocentric and selfish at first, but I realized that, like my kindergartners, I had no frame of reference if I didn’t even know myself. I couldn’t take on the world because I wasn’t developmentally ready. How could I bring healing to the world if I hadn’t allowed myself to be healed?

This realization was incredibly liberating for me and as soon as I was able to look inward the world around me started to change for the better! You too can bring positive change to your world. All you have to do is start with the understanding that you deserve to be healed and that you cannot solve the larger issues if you don’t start with yourself.

~be the ripple effect~

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Concentric Circles

  • Really enjoyed that! The thing to remember is even the great masters and sages are themselves constant students, as are we all. We cannot teach unless we keep learning. 🙂

  • taicarmen says:

    I think you are right on the money here. It’s easy to get carried away in ones spiritual aspirations without building the foundation of inward-turning and self-knowledge. But the old adage “Know thyself” is really the rich soil in which to plant all future seeds.

    It’s like what they tell you in the safety demo when flying in an airplane: in the event of an emergency, put your *own* oxygen mask on before putting on that of the minor in your charge, because if *you* pass out, no one will be there to help the child anyway! 🙂

    By that same token, if you wish to fill people’s glass, you must first fill your own pitcher.

    It’s a worthy lesson!

    Here here!! And keep up the good work. 🙂

    TC

  • nicolefilosa says:

    thanks! I love the oxygen mask analogy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Concentric Circles at a flourishing.

meta

