A New Normal – Life without TV

June 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

The other day I wrote about killing your tv and the benefits to your mind. Our household has been without a television for a couple of years now and we actually can’t imagine what life would be like to have one again. Our relationship, interests, and opportunities have blossomed since giving up the telly. Life without a television seems so natural and normal that I’d actually forgotten how much other people are attached to theirs.

Yesterday, while replacing my old iPhone – much to my chagrin, I was hoping to keep the old one forever until it stopped taking calls rendering it useless and forcing me to replace it, the whole ordeal did get me thinking about trading the cell for a landline, but I digress – the young sales person asked if she could bundle my cable TV and cell phone bills, to which I responded that I do not have a television. By the look on her face you’d think I would have told her that I’m an occasional cannibal. She shrunk back behind her computer processing what I’d just said, and then she asked for clarification, “Did you say you don’t have a TV?” I sure did, haven’t had one in a couple of years. “Sooo…um…what do you guys do? Like, just talk or something?”

Yes, we just talk or something. Is that really all that strange? Are people really so attached to TV that they can’t imagine what they would do without it? Like, what if they had to actually talk to their families, or roommates, or spouses?! I explained to her that we do talk but we also have lots of time to do other things like pursue our artistic endeavors, read great books, play, listen to music, and simply enjoy life.

LIFE IS NOT HAPPENING INSIDE YOUR TELEVISION!
Watching people do interesting things does not make you interesting! Do you even know what you like to do? What makes your heart sing? Does another episode of the Bachelor feed your soul? Or are you just passing the time until you die? If you’re ready to take the plunge and find your true self and your true ambitions you’ve got to kill the TV. Or at least take a break for a week, a month, a year. If you’re not completely satisfied feel free send your complaints to me:  nicoleleanne {!!at} gmail {dot}com. If, on the otherhand, your life blossoms you are welcome to send money, gifts, and gratitude my way 😉

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A New Normal – Life without TV

  • taicarmen says:

    “Watching people do interesting things does not make you interesting.” Here here!

    Why is this such a news flash to people? And yet it is! I remember reading an article about a mom who ended up writing a book about “the no TV experiment” she did with her family, and while the point was that by the end she was glad she did it — they interacted more as a family, played games, talked, read books, etc — she describes the effort as though it were akin to giving up heroin.

    The average American watches more than 4 hours of TV each day, which adds up to two months of non-stop TV-watching per year. By age 65, that person will have spent 9 years watching television. 99 % of American homes own at least one television…

    I am proud to say my home is not one of them!

    Keep up with these important thoughts 🙂

    TC

    • nicolefilosa says:

      thank you for visiting my new blog and thanks for those stats. too bad i didn’t have them yesterday at the AT&T store! Just as well, I don’t think I convinced the young sales clerk to change her lifestyle in a 2 minute conversation. Perhaps a seed was planted?

      Thanks again for your words, I’ll have to keep an eye on your blog for thought provoking inspiration!

    • You write a great blog! I just wanted to say that while at shool I do not watch any tv and am very productive. But when I’m at home, Thats my time to catch up on my tv shows recorded on the DVR… I definately think taking the tvs out of would create a more functional family. Alas… I think my brother would have withrawals. lol

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A New Normal – Life without TV at a flourishing.

meta

